BIOGRAPHY

Download CV

Guillaume Dupuis graduated from the Brussels Institut supérieur de peinture Van der Kelen - Logelain in 1980. In order to further deepen his knowledge, he then pursued advanced training in fresco and lime stucco at the Center of training for the rehabilitation of architectural heritage, in Avignon, France. He restores, refurbishes and achieves contemporary projects, castles and patrimonial residences in France, Morocco and Saudi Arabia. He leaves France in 1998 to settle in Canada.

Both the educational background and professional path of this painter decorator are impressive. What arouses admiration for him, however, is unquestionably the fruit of his art: faux wood and faux marble, creased patinas, Tuscan sky replicas or subtle trompe l'oeil. Whatever the desired effect, the result is always... mystifying.

An early vocation

Decorative painting is a family tradition for this artist born in Auxerre, France. He is barely 16 years old when he is admitted at l'École des beaux-arts de Paris, and he is 18 when he achieves his first works with his father and brother: wall frescoes at the Royal Palace of Rabat, in Morocco, under the leadership of André Paccard.

After the Beaux arts, Guillaume Dupuis pursues his studies at the Brussels Van der Kelen decorative painting school, where he learns to imitate the colours of countless wood species and marble varieties, using a Flemish technique of hyperrealism. Desirous to perfect his learned skills and master the techniques of skim coating and lime stucco, the painter then attends the Center of training for the rehabilitation of architectural heritage in Avignon, France.

Palace of Versailles

Once his training completed, Guillaume Dupuis decorates haute couture boutiques such as Christian Dior's, among others, freshens up historical monuments, museums and churches – the altarpiece of the Saint Jean de Luz church, where Louis XIV got married; one of the chapels of Saint Estephe church – and puts his name on prestigious villas. As his mark gains in popularity, the artist acquires an enviable reputation. In 1984, he is entrusted with the task of refurbishing the baseboards of the Palace of Versailles: a particularly gratifying year of work, while he paints the baseboards of the monument in faux marble.

Created by Spherika

BIOGRAPHIE

Telecharger CV

Diplômé de l’Institut Van der Kelen-Logelain à Bruxelles en 1980, enrichi par un stage de fresque et stuc à la chaux au Centre de formation à la réhabilitation du patrimoine architectural d’Avignon, Guillaume Dupuis s’exécute à la restauration, à la réfection et à la réalisation de projets contemporains, de châteaux et de demeures patrimoniales en France, au Maroc et en Arabie Saoudite. Quitte la France en 1998 pour s’installer au Canada.

La fiche académique comme le parcours professionnel de ce peintre-décorateur impressionnent. Mais ce qui provoque l'admiration pour Guillaume Dupuis, c'est sans conteste les fruits de son art : faux bois et faux marbres, patines chiffonnées, répliques du ciel toscan ou trompe-l'oeil subtils. Quel que soit l'effet recherché, le résultat est toujours... confondant.

Une vocation précoce

La peinture décorative, c'est une tradition familiale pour cet artiste originaire d'Auxerre. Il a à peine seize ans lorsqu'il est admis à l'École des beaux-arts de Paris et dix-huit lorsqu'il réalise son premier chantier avec son père et son frère : des fresques murales au palais royal de Rabat, au Maroc, sous la houlette d'André Paccard.

Après les Beaux-Arts, Guillaume Dupuis poursuit ses études à l'école de peinture Van der Kelen de Bruxelles, où il apprend à imiter les couleurs des innombrables essences de bois et variétés de marbre grâce à une technique flamande d'hyperréalisme. Désireux de parfaire son apprentissage et de maîtriser les techniques d'enduits fins et de stuc à la chaux, le peintre se rend ensuite au Centre de formation à la réhabilitation du patrimoine architectural d'Avignon.

Château de Versailles

Sa formation terminée, Guillaume Dupuis décore des boutiques de haute couture, dont celle de Christian Dior, refait une beauté à des monuments historiques, des musées et des églises - le retable de l'église de Saint-Jean-de-Luz, où s'est marié Louis XIV, une des chapelles de l'église de Saint-Estèphe, et signe des villas prestigieuses. À mesure que son empreinte s'affirme, l'artiste acquiert une jolie reconnaissance et, en 1984, il se voit confier la rénovation des plinthes du château de Versailles. Une année de travail particulièrement gratifiante pendant laquelle il peint les plinthes du monument en faux marbre.

Creer par Spherika